Massachusetts Invasive Plants Advisory Group

Founding MIPAG members (List of current members)

 

These members assisted in the production of "The Evaluation of Non-Native Plant Species for Invasiveness in Massachusetts" and "Strategic Recommendations for Managing Invasive Plants in Massachusetts":


Timothy B. Abbott (MIPAG Strategic Management Plan Committee Chair)
Geoffrey Hughes Program Director, The Nature Conservancy
Ph: (413) 229-0232 x226, tabbott@tnc.org

 

Patricia E. Bigelow MCH
Past President, New England Nursery Association
President, Bigelow Nurseries Inc
Ph: 508-845-2143, patbigelow@bigelownurseries.com

 

Donald A. Bishop
Member, Board of Directors, Ecological Landscaping Association
Owner, Gardens Are… (full service land care business -- design, maintenance, construction)
Ph: 508-303-0800, don@gardensare.com

 

Cynthia J. W. Boettner (MIPAG Coordinator)
Coordinator, Invasive Plant Control Initiative, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Silvio O. Conte National Fish and Wildlife Refuge
413-548-8002 ext. 115, Cynthia_Boettner@fws.gov

 

A. Richard Bonanno, Ph.D.
Weed Scientist, UMass Extension
Past President, Northeastern Weed Science Society
Ph: 978/682-9563, rbonanno@umext.umass.edu

 

William E. Brumback
Conservation Director, New England Wild Flower Society
508-877-7630 ext. 3201, bbrumback@newfs.org

 

Peter Del Tredici, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist, The Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University
Ph: 617.524.1718 ext 154, peter_deltredici@harvard.edu

 

Mary Hallene, MCH
Member, Board of Directors, Massachusetts Nursery and Landscape Association
Ph: 508-636-4573, sales@sylvannursery.com

 

Thomas D. Kyker-Snowman
Natural Resources Specialist, Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation, Division of Water Supply Protection
Past Chair, Massachusetts Association of Professional Foresters
Ph: 413-323-7254 ext 551, thom.kyker-snowman@state.ma.us

 

Calvin W. Layton
Principal, C.W. Layton Consulting
Former Senior Arborist, NSTAR Electric
Former Supervisor, Vegetation Control Service
Ph: 978-413-6307, laytocw@nu.com

 

Christopher Mattrick
Senior Conservation Programs Manager, New England Wild Flower Society
Ph: 508-877-7630 ext. 3203, cmattrick@newfs.org

 

R. Wayne Mezitt
Past President, American Nursery and Landscape Association, (ANLA), Washington, DC
Chairman, Weston Nurseries, Inc., Hopkinton, MA
Ph: 508-293-8046, WayneM@WestonNurseries.com

 

Brad Mitchell
Director, MA Dept of Agricultural Resources

 

Randall Prostak
Extension Specialist, UMass Extension, Landscape, Nursery and Urban Forestry
Ph: 413-577-1738, rprostak@umext.umass.edu

 

Mark Sawyer MCH
Member, American Nursery and Landscape Association
Member, Board of Directors, Massachusetts Nursery and Landscape Association
Ph: 508-293-8027, marks@westonnurseries.com

 

Jonathan A. Shaw
Member, Natural Heritage and Endangered Species Advisory Committee
Ph: 508-888-0129, shaw@cape.com

 

Paul Somers, Ph.D.
State Botanist, Conservation Biologist III
Natural Heritage and Endangered Species Program, Massachusetts Div. of Fisheries and Wildlife
Ph: 508-792-7270 x149, paul.somers@state.ma.us

 

Rena M. Sumner (MIPAG Chair)
Executive Director, Massachusetts Nursery and Landscape Association
Ph: 413-369-4731, mnlaoffice@aol.com

 

Lou Wagner
Regional Scientist, Massachusetts Audubon Society
Ph: 978-927-1122 Ext. 2705, lwagner@massaudubon.org

 

Seth Wilkinson
Principal, Wilkinson Ecological Design
Past Natural Resource Planner, Cape Cod Commission, Barnstable County
Past Brewster Conservation Administrator
Ph: (508) 241-0125, sethw@cape.com

 

Advisor and Consultant to Massachusetts Invasive Plant Advisory Group:

Leslie J. Mehrhoff, Ph.D.
Director, Invasive Plant Atlas of New England
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Department University of Connecticut
Ph: 860-486-5708, les.mehrhoff@uconn.edu

 

< Back to Top >